Work flow - rotating "ucs"

General HighDesign Discussions
Touw

Work flow - rotating "ucs"

Post by Touw »

Hi everyone,

I tried posting this question as an add on to the "rotating canvas" thread under the feedback section of the forum but I haven't received any responses yet so I thought I would try posting it in this part of the forum. :)

I'm new to HighDesign - just trying to figure things out. I would love to know if there is a way to draw a plan in the sheets with sections and elevations rotated around the plan in a fixed position and then be able to change the 'ucs' (as in AutoCAD). I don't want to have to move and rotate the elevations and sections (i.e. re-position them for layout/printing purposes)if there is a way around this. And I see that in R5 you are able to rotate the viewports so that's great. The only step I'm missing is how to rotate the drawing space easily as I work in the sheets. I couldn't see the attachment that seemed to clarify this issue from the "rotating canvas" thread under the feedback section of the forum.
Am I just trying to replicate AutoCad too closely or is there a better way to do things in HighDesign that allows for a way to keep plans/sections/elevations lined up all the time?

Does anyone know if the R6 version will have any new features that would help with this?

Thanks for your help.

macitect

Re: Work flow - rotating "ucs"

Post by macitect »

There is no way to do what you are asking. For simple residential projects I have always set up the elevations around the plan. My work flow has always been to get the existing conditions or first iteration of a design to a satisfactory level before then copying them to a new sheet for laying out. I was very much hoping that the rotating viewports in RC5 (or whatever...) would in some way alleviate this limitation, but sadly for me anyway there were so many issues with texts and dimensions not displaying properly that I had to abandon use of it.

Good luck.

Touw

Post by Touw »